Portugal · Passive income visa · Open
Portugal D7 Visa: Requirements and How to Apply
The Portugal D7 visa is a residence route for people who live on regular passive income, such as pensions, rental income or dividends. It is the visa most retirees and early retirees use, and it is why it is often called the Portugal retirement visa. The benchmark is tied to the Portuguese minimum wage, which is €920 a month in 2026, with more required for a spouse and children. You apply at a Portuguese consulate for a 120-day visa, then collect a 2-year residence permit from AIMA.
Thresholds, fees and checklists change and differ between consulates, so check the official visa portal before you apply.
At a glance
Portugal D7 Visa (Passive Income Visa) (Visto D7 (residencia para reformados, rendimentos proprios))
- Who it’s for
- Non-EU citizens with regular passive income such as pensions, rental income, dividends or interest, including retirees
- Income requirement
- €920 a month
- How it’s calculated
- 100% of the Portuguese national minimum wage (EUR 920 in 2026) for the main applicant, +50% for a spouse or other adult, +30% per child, per the percentages on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs visa portal. That portal page still shows the 2024 figure of EUR 820, so the EUR 920 figure applies the 2026 wage to the official percentages and is widely used by secondary sources; confirm the figure with your consulate.
- Initial stay
- Residence visa valid 120 days (two entries), then a 2-year residence permit issued by AIMA
- Renewal
- Yes, in 3-year periods (per secondary sources; confirm with AIMA)
- Path to permanent residence
- 5 years of legal residence for permanent residence; citizenship takes 10 years under the 2026 nationality law (7 for EU and Portuguese-speaking-country nationals)
- Family can join
- Yes
- Can work for local employers
- Yes
- Health insurance required
- Yes
- Processing time
- Consulate decisions are described as up to about 60 days; the AIMA appointment for the residence card can add months
- Fees
- Consular visa fee is about EUR 90 on the gov.pt page for the comparable D2 visa; some secondary sources report EUR 110 for 2025-26. AIMA residence permit fees (about EUR 160 per a secondary source) are paid at the appointment. Confirm all fees with the consulate.
- Tax
- Becoming a tax resident means Portugal taxes your worldwide income. The NHR regime is closed to new entrants and its IFICI successor is narrow, so most D7 holders pay normal IRS rates; talk to a cross-border tax adviser, especially if you are American.
Key requirements
- Passive income of at least EUR 920 a month (main applicant), documented over recent months
- Savings: secondary sources cite one year of the minimum wage (EUR 11,040) in a Portuguese bank account; the official page does not state this
- A Portuguese tax number (NIF) and usually a Portuguese bank account
- 12 months of accommodation: a rental contract, deed or a notarized host declaration
- Criminal record certificate with a Hague apostille (FBI check for US applicants; ACRO for UK); validity windows vary by consulate (the VFS UK checklist says 4 months)
- Travel or health insurance covering medical costs and repatriation (the VFS UK checklist asks for 6 months' validity)
- A request for a Portuguese criminal record check and the signed national visa form
- Application at the consulate that covers your place of residence
Official and secondary sources · Last checked Oct 7, 2026. Rules change — confirm with the consulate or a qualified advisor. Not legal advice.
Who qualifies
The D7 is for non-EU citizens who can support themselves without working in Portugal. Typical applicants are retirees, landlords and investors. Income should be passive and regular; a remote salary usually belongs under the D8 digital nomad visa.
Income requirement
The official visa portal ties the amount you must show to the national minimum wage: 100% for the main applicant, 50% for each additional adult and 30% for each child. For 2026 the minimum wage is €920 a month, so a single applicant is usually asked for about €920 a month in passive income.
There is one wrinkle you should know about. The official means-of-subsistence page we read still shows the 2024 figure of €820, and one consulate checklist from March 2025 lists €9,840 as 12 months of that wage. The €920 benchmark is the 2026 wage applied to the official percentages, and many secondary sources also describe savings of about €11,040 in a Portuguese bank account. Because this is not clearly stated on one official page, confirm both figures with your consulate before you build your budget around them.
Documents you'll need
Checklists differ by consulate, but expect:
- The signed national visa application form and passport photos.
- Proof of income (pension statements or rental contracts) and recent bank statements.
- A Portuguese tax number (NIF) and, in practice, a Portuguese bank account.
- Accommodation for 12 months: a rental contract, a property deed, or a notarized host declaration.
- A criminal record certificate with a Hague apostille. US applicants use an FBI check; UK applicants use an ACRO certificate. Validity windows differ, and one UK checklist says four months.
- Insurance covering medical expenses and repatriation. The same checklist asks for six months of validity.
Step-by-step application
- Confirm the benchmark and checklist with your consulate.
- Get your NIF (a fiscal representative can help from abroad) and open a bank account.
- Arrange accommodation and insurance, then gather and apostille documents.
- Submit your application at the consulate or its visa center.
- If approved, enter Portugal within the 120-day window and book your AIMA appointment for biometrics and your residence card.
Costs and timeline
The consular visa fee is about €90 on the government page for the comparable D2 route, and some secondary sources report €110 for 2025 and 2026. A secondary source puts the AIMA residence permit fee at about €160. Budget extra for translations, apostilles and legal help. Consulate decisions are described as taking up to about 60 days, but AIMA appointments can add months, so avoid non-refundable moves until you have a card date.
Taxes once you're resident
Once you spend more than 183 days in Portugal, or keep a home there that looks like your habitual residence, you become a Portuguese tax resident taxed on worldwide income. The NHR regime is closed to new entrants and its successor IFICI is limited to listed professions, so most D7 holders pay standard rates. See our Portugal guide and speak to a cross-border adviser. This is not tax advice.
Family members
Spouses and dependent children can apply; the benchmark rises 50% for a spouse and 30% per child. Bring apostilled, translated marriage and birth certificates.
Path to permanent residence and citizenship
The first permit lasts 2 years, and renewals have been described as 3-year periods. Permanent residence is possible after 5 years of legal residence. Citizenship takes longer: under the 2026 nationality law most applicants need 10 years, or 7 for EU and Portuguese-speaking-country nationals. Portugal allows dual citizenship.
Alternatives
- Remote worker earning about €3,680 a month: D8 digital nomad visa.
- Freelancer or founder: D2 visa.
- Investor: golden visa, with funds from €500,000.
- Comparing countries: Spain's non-lucrative visa asks for about €2,400 a month.
Where to live? See Lisbon, Porto and Faro & the Algarve, or read our Portugal guide.
Other passive income & retirement visas in Europe
| Route | Country | Type | Status | Headline requirement | Initial stay | Path to PR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| France Long-Stay Visitor Visa (VLS-TS Visiteur) | France | Retirement visa | Open | €1,478/mo income | Long-stay visa valid up to 12 months, acting as a residence… | Not straightforward: the visitor card a… |
| Greece Financially Independent Person Visa | Greece | Passive income visa | Open | €2,000/mo income | 2-year residence permit after a Type D entry visa | Greek law offers long-term residence af… |
| Italy Elective Residency Visa | Italy | Retirement visa | Open | €2,583/mo income | Visa for 91 to 365 days (multiple entry); then an elective … | 5 years of residence for the EU long-te… |
| Portugal D7 Visa (Passive Income Visa) | Portugal | Passive income visa | Open | €920/mo income | Residence visa valid 120 days (two entries), then a 2-year … | 5 years of legal residence for permanen… |
| Spain Non-Lucrative Visa (Residence Without Work) | Spain | Retirement visa | Open | €2,400/mo income | 90-day entry visa, then a 1-year residence permit (per seco… | 5 years of legal residence for long-ter… |
Thresholds and rules change often. Each route links to its official government page — confirm there before you apply. Not legal advice.
Other ways to live in Portugal
- Portugal D2 Visa (Independent Worker and Entrepreneur) Open
- Portugal D8 Digital Nomad Visa Open
- Portugal Golden Visa (ARI Investor Residence) Open
Moving to Portugal: the complete guide →
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum income for the Portugal D7 visa?
The benchmark is tied to the Portuguese minimum wage, which is €920 a month in 2026 for a single applicant, with 50% more for a spouse and 30% for each child. The official page we read still shows the 2024 figure, so confirm the current amount with your consulate before you apply.
Can I work in Portugal on a D7 visa?
The D7 is designed for people living on passive income, and secondary sources say holders may also work, but we did not confirm this on an official page. If your main income is a remote salary, the D8 is the safer route. Ask the consulate or an immigration lawyer about local work.
Can Americans get a D7 visa?
Yes. Americans apply at the Portuguese consulate that covers their state, with an FBI background check, income proof, accommodation and insurance. The D7 also suits Brits, Canadians and Australians. Each consulate publishes its own checklist, so use the one for your jurisdiction.
Do I need a Portuguese bank account for the D7?
In practice, yes. Consulates usually expect a NIF and often a Portuguese bank account with your savings, and secondary sources cite about €11,040 for a single applicant. The official page we read does not state it, so confirm with your consulate.
Sources and last checked · Oct 7, 2026
Notes: The Ministry of Foreign Affairs means-of-subsistence page was read today but still states the 2024 monthly minimum wage of EUR 820 (net) with 100%/50%/30% additions; the VFS UK checklist (March 2025) shows EUR 9,840 as 12 months of the 2024 wage. The 2026 national minimum wage of EUR 920 is from a news report of the decree (idealista.pt). The EUR 920 threshold, the EUR 11,040 savings figure and per-person add-ons come from secondary sources (Portugalist) and need confirmation with a consulate. Fees are from secondary sources except where noted. Whether D7 holders may work is commonly stated in secondary sources but was not confirmed on an official page; flagged for human review. Citizenship timeline from secondary sources describing Lei Organica 1/2026.
- vistos.mne.gov.pt/en/national-visas/necessary-documentation/means-of-subsistence
- vistos.mne.gov.pt/en/national-visas/necessary-documentation/residency
- vfsglobal.com/one-pager/portugal/uk/english/pdf/D7-Residence-Visa-For-Retirem…
- idealista.pt/news/node/73269
- portugalist.com/d7-changes-2026
- jobbatical.com/blog/portugal-immigration-visa-fees-2025
Figures are our research estimates from the sources above; rules and prices change. Not legal, tax or immigration advice. Spot something out of date? Tell us.